A cataract is a buildup of protein in the lens of the eye that prevents light from clearly passing through, causing some loss of vision. Depending upon the severity of your condition, cataracts may require you to have cataract surgery.

4 Different Types of Cataracts

Age-Related Cataracts

This type of cataract develops as a symptom of old age, especially in those who have smoked or had significant exposure to ultraviolet light. It is one of the most common types of cataract we treat at Vistar Eye Center.

Congenital Cataracts

This type develops when something interferes with the normal growth of a fetus. Children of mothers who take certain medications and cortisone-type drugs or contract the German measles or rubella during pregnancy often suffer from cataracts.

Secondary Cataracts

This type of cataract can sometimes develop after a patient has had cataract surgery to remove their original cataracts. During the cataract surgery, the inner contents of the eye lens, including particles of the cataract, are broken down to be removed. Sometimes tiny particles of the cataract are unintentionally left behind and over time will form a film over the lens, causing same or similar symptoms as the original cataract.

Traumatic Cataracts

This type forms after injury to the eye. Blunt force or penetration of the lenses causes damage to the fibers. As a result, one’s vision becomes blurry and clouded.

Most cataracts can be treated with surgery, removing the inner contents of the eye lens that causes clouding. If you think you’re experiencing symptoms of cataracts, request an appointment with a Vistar Eye Center surgeon as soon as possible.